Posted by: qqlai | April 27, 2009

Bidor Half Marathon 2009

A) Will it be tough to run a Half marathon while I am still recovering from my twisted ankle injury caught few weeks back?

Answer : Definitely yes.

B) Will it be tough to run 10km then (continue from Question A above)?

Answer : Hmm, may be yes but I can go slow and don’t push myself too hard. (sorry, mom, pls don’t scold me, I will rest more after this I promise )

C) Will it be tough to run 10km and continue to shoot the runners after that?

Answer : He he, I have done this yesterday and it was tough of course but again, it’s satisfying!

a-0131

Beautiful sunset scene taken from rooftop of Grand Kampar Hotel

a-060

So, with a nervous heart, I started the 10km run @ 7.05am sharp with the rest after the 21km runners who went off 5 min ago. I kept my slow pace @ 7-8km/h to test on my legs’ adaptability after the ‘training-less’ long rest. Not too bad, I still managed to cope with the uphill slopes but was very careful when going downhills just to protect my right ankle.

This is my 1st year joining Bidor Run. The 10km route was nice with not much car traffic to worry about, Kudos to the organiser. Just need to bear with the natural aroma around .

Towards the last 2km, I was still feeling fresh although my knees has given me signs to slow down my pace. I didn’t put any pressure on timing since this is my first run after I’d injured my ankle. Nevertheless, I still hang on and drag myself to the Finishing point. And guess what, I got a  placing card from the official – D79,  1st time in my running experience! My finishing time was 1:04 which I’m very satisfied. TQ to my Adidas Supernova Glide as well. You have done a good job, Mr Glide!

After grabbed my medal & cert (even forgot to get a drink), I rushed to my car, changed my all wet running vest and get my camera bag then went to the last junction near the Finishing point for photo shooting.

Tips for the Runners :

1) Give the photographer your biggest SMILE and show your Victory pose when we point at you, although you may still curse on why you haven’t reached the finishing line yet and you also can’t feel your legs attached to your body anymore.

2) When you see the photographer is busy changing memory card, battery or lens, or wiping his sweaty forehead (I think it’s me only), pls be patient and don’t worry, there’re still plenty of handsome photopgraphers ahead!

3) If you are a cool Runner and don’t like to pose in front of the camera but focus on your run, pls just be yourself, I truly understand the feeling.

a-075

a-4241

a-653

I mingled with some fellow runners @ the finishing line after I left my ‘duty’ @ 9.35am & enjoyed my well deserved drinks – 2 cups of mineral water. Congrates to Yen Erl for the improved timing. To Alfie, don’t feel disappointed on this experience, you will surely improve in time to come, and TQ so much for switching the category with me!

You may view the complete albums at the below link :

http://picasaweb.google.com/qqlaisk

b-111From left : Yen Erl, Sheau Ling, Yen Ghee & Alfie

b-113

b-122

Hoffen & Wai Sum

b-118Running is happy !

Original post is on http://qqlai.multiply.com/



Leave a comment

Categories